Having a Chat with Maria Monteiro…

Maria Monteiro

Maria Monteiro

One of the greatest things about life are the surprises. One day I was on twitter, minding everyone else’s business (aka reading tweets), and the next I had stumbled upon an up and coming young adult author named Maria Monteiro.

Her writing is bursting with the best components of young adult romance: emotional conflict, amazing characters, and the struggle to reveal what is hidden in the human heart. If you haven’t already done so, do yourself a favor and check out her book “Hold on Tight” available here!

In an effort to get to know a little more about the woman behind the writing, here are some things about Maria you might like to know…

Q.  If you could spend a day living the life of one of your characters, which one would it be and why?

Maria: “I would love to be Emma from Hold on Tight for one day. She has two very hot guys pursuing her. Who wouldn’t want that? The only thing is I would have more fun with Court and Nash (the two hot guys), and not worry so much of who I want to be with. She also works at an amusement park and I always wanted to do that when I was younger.”

Q.  Which of your writing projects are you most proud of?

Maria: “This is tough because each one of my stories are like my children and how could you pick between one, but if I had to I would have to say Hold on Tight. It is not the first book I wrote, but it’s the first one I published and had people actually read. I still remember the first time I held my book in my hands, I could not stop crying and beaming with pride. It was a magical moment.”

Q.  Since most writers are also avid readers, which author or authors are you a fan of?

Maria: “I have so many authors I am huge fan of: Jennifer Echols, Judy Bloom, Jenny Han, Jen Naumann, Danielle Sibarium, and L.H Cosway. They are all so talented in different ways. Every time I read one of their books I fall in love with reading all over again.”

Q.  Do you have any favorite bands or playlists to help motivate you during your writing?

Maria: “I can’t even imagine writing without music. It inspires me in so many ways. I even titled every chapter in Hold on Tight and Letting Go after song titles. Right now the bands that motivate me the most are O.A.R, Parachute, Lifehouse, American Bang, Led Zeppelin and a female singer named Alexz Johnson. They all have a perfect song that fits with what my characters are going through.”

Q.  If you could give any piece of advice to your younger self, what would it be?

Maria: “The biggest piece of advice I would give my younger self is: do not let the fear of failure control you. I spent too many years of my life not doing what I wanted to do because I was afraid someone would tell me I’m not good enough. I’m so happy I finally took a chance.”

Q.  What job did you dream of having when you were a kid?

Maria: “I always knew I wanted to be writer. I’m so lucky I’m finally doing it.”

For more information on this amazingly talented writer, please check out the links below.

Maria Monteiro – Inspired by the Small Moments

Maria on Twitter!

Maria’s Author Page at Amazon.com

2 comments on “Having a Chat with Maria Monteiro…

  1. Maria Monteiro says:

    This was so much fun to do thank you so much for the opportunity

Leave a Reply

