The Next Big Thing Blog Post!

Welcome to my post for the Next Big Thing Blog Hop! I want to give a quick shout out of thanks to L.H. Cosway for the invite to participate. This whole thing is designed to raise awareness of our work in progress. We do that by answering ten questions about it. We graciously thank the person who nominated us, and tag other authors whose work could well be that NEXT BIG THING.

Q1: What is the working title of your book?

My current book in progress is “Dark Horizon”.

Q2: Where did the idea for the book come from?

Oddly enough, my true inspiration came from a board game called “Battle Ball” that I bought for my son when he was about 8. The 3D playing pieces are little armored guys who play a version of football. But for this book, my imagination somehow spun it into a gladiator style version along with some tender romance.

Q3: What genre does your book fall under?

This is a YA (young adult) book. It wasn’t actually intended to be, in the original concept, but during the writing process the characters just sort of took me in that direction.

Q4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

My main characters are Silas and Dahlia. As I have been writing the book, the actors I most easily imagine portraying these characters would be: Channing Tatum for Silas and Amanda Seyfried for Dahlia.

Q5: What is the one sentence synopsis for your book?

This is a love story set in a futuristic world that is harsh and desperate.

Q6: Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I intend to self-publish this book because it is so much easier to make your own work available to the world with today’s technology.

Q7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I am actually still in the final stages of the first draft. I expect it to be completed by Dec 16th. I wanted to finish it for Nanowrimo but life has thrown me a couple curve balls in the meantime.

Q8: What other books would you compare this story to, within your genre?

I guess the Hunger Games comes to mind because of the age group. Also, the spotlight on violence for entertainment in that world/setting, and the struggle of the main characters to survive.

Q9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I was inspired to really dig my heels in and write this book after publishing my first short story on Amazon.com. Once I felt the satisfaction of publishing my own work, I was hooked and couldn’t wait to get started on my next project.

Q10: What else about your book might pique the readers’ interest?

This book is filled with action. There are exciting things happening in nearly every chapter. The characters are strong and well-developed, and their budding romance is tender and passionate.

Now I’d like to pass the torch to other deserving authors, and let them tell you all about their work. Their posts will bear the same title and will be live between tomorrow and December 5.

Maria Monteiro

Mike Lane

 

4 comments on “The Next Big Thing Blog Post!

  1. Mike L. says:

    This is such a great idea going around. It’s good for writers to have another excuse for self-promotion =)

    • kltoth says:

      Self promotion is the name of the game in the writing business!

      • Mike L. says:

        Yep. You just don’t want to be a writer to where that is the only conversation you know how to have: “buymybook!buymybook!buymybook!buymybook!buymybook!”

      • kltoth says:

        OMG! I can’t tell you how many time I see writers just tweet over and over again about just their own work and you simply have to read it. There are many ways to market yourself without beating people over the head with it.

Leave a Reply

