Learning experiences…

I learned something yesterday. It came in a slightly painful and uncomfortable way, as do most of the valuable lessons in life.

I posted the prologue of my current work in progress. I have rewritten this prologue more times than I can count on both hands, and it still isn’t right. I had hoped it was close, but that should have told me what I needed to know right there.

If you only hope its right, but don’t know that it is, than it isn’t.

It seems like a simple enough truth, doesn’t it? But I, like many writers before me, let my enthusiasm get in the way of my good judgment.

I wanted to share this story and have other people love it as much as I do, so I just couldn’t wait. Classic mistake, and I am still kicking myself for it.

The lesson learned is this: Even if you have rewritten and proofread your work for what feels like a thousand times, you should expect to do it for a thousand more. Because until you know in the depths of your soul that it is ready, it isn’t.

Fortunately for me, I am not the type of person to give in to defeat. I don’t pack up my toys and go home from the playground, so to speak. I will endeavor to persevere as so many others have before me.

When it is right I will know it, and until then I will take yesterday’s lesson to heart and bide my time.

Leave a Reply

