The Things I Remember Most…

7-20-2010 052

“The things I remember most:

The small size of your hand as I held it in mine;

How you gazed in wonder at things I had long since taken for-granted;

The simple joys you gave my heart whenever you would smile;

How your eyes would light up when you were happy;

How you could crush my heart and soul with your tears;

The way you always wanted to spend time with me, (back before your life got so busy);

How you believed I really could do anything, and that I really did know the answers to every question;

The absolute trust and faith you had in me to know what was best for you.

But you are all grown up now;

Those times are far behind us;

Yet the weight of them draws me down into such sadness for the days gone by that cannot be lived again;

And at the same time gives me hope for the future memories you and your baby will someday share;

I will always miss the way your little face once looked up at mine, with all the love and trust in the world;

I will always long for the times when you still felt like you needed me, and I could be your hero;

But I will always love you more than anything in this world, and it will grow with each passing day;

These things I remember most will never fade away with time;

They live forever in my heart.

Copyright © 2013 “K.L. Toth”  All Rights Reserved. This poem may not be copied, altered, or duplicated without the express permission of the author.

Leave a Reply

