Ed Coburn And The Dog Who Ate The ???

Ed Coburn

 

The focus of my interview today is on author, Ed Coburn. My first introduction to Ed was actually through Twitter. He often tweets some of the most thought provoking and deeply inspiring quotes and messages of anyone I have seen.

Yet, his real passion seems to lie in his books. He is most notably, the author of “The Dog Who Ate The ???” series, as well as the beginnings of a couple others, which he mentions later in this interview:

Ed, I have gotten the impression that your love for writing started at a very early age. Can you tell me a little more about that?

“I would have to say at about eight years old. I had a dream and then typed it out the next morning even though, at eight, I didn’t know how to type. My parents, naturally, thought it was great but it was probably crap. But it was a start.”

As is sometimes the case, it can take an important life event to really prompt someone to get serious about their dreams and passions in life. Was this true for you?

“A little over two years ago I had three small strokes and I emerged from that experience a different person and have been writing seriously ever since.”

I know you have written a few different books thus far, but out of all your writing projects, which one are you most proud of?

“I would have to say The Dog Who Ate The ??? series. I will be more proud when it is finished many years from now because the series is alphabetical (A-Z) and I am only writing D now (The Dog Who Ate The Drawing).”

So Ed, that being said, if you could spend a day living the life of any one of your characters, which one would it be and why?

“I would have to say Adam in my series of The Dog Who Ate The ??? series. That’s because he’s young (38), rich, and psychic.”

In your writing career, what has been the biggest challenge for you thus far?

“My biggest challenge would have to be finding enough time to write with all the other parts of my life always getting in the way, Twitter, Facebook, my real job (a programmer for the DMV). But, in less than two years I will be able to retire from the DMV with 5 years and then I hope to become a full-time writer.”

Considering for just a moment, the work of other authors you admire, do you have a favorite book?

“That would have to be “The Moon is a Harsh Mistress” by Robert A. Heinlein. I’ve read it probably ten times and I have never before read a book more than once or twice.”

Last but not least, what are the top three items on your “bucket list” (assuming you have one)?

“1. Finish my The Dog Who Ate The ??? series as well as write more books in my “Standing” series (the first one is The Last Killer Standing), my “Order Of The White Feather” series (the first one is The Sword of Dalamar) and I want to write some books of two more alphabetical series I want to start.

2. Ride in a hot air balloon and/or go skydiving.

3. Tour Europe and, at least, go back to Ireland where I was in 1997.”

Thank you so much for your time Ed. I am looking forward to seeing where your “The Dog Who Ate The ???” series is going to take us as you work your way through the alphabet.

Readers,  take a few moments to browse through the links below to learn even more about Ed Coburn and his written works.

The Dog Who Ate the Airplane (Book One of The Dog Who Ate The ??? series)

Edward Coburn’s Amazon.com Author Page

Ed Coburn on Twitter

Ed’s Bio Page on Smashwords!

 

 

One comment on “Ed Coburn And The Dog Who Ate The ???

  1. Nice interview. I hope Mr. Coburn finds plenty of time to write the rest of his series.

Leave a Reply

